Design

Wireless sound

Diploma project at the ECAL in 2007. The main theme is the nomadic sound, which through new technologies allows to be transported wireless, thus opening a new dimension to objects propagating sound like speakers. Taking advantage of this new freedom, these objects can now use new and unexpected spaces. They offer different solutions, adapting to their environment both at formal level and ergonomic.
One of these speakers operates with one of the most prevalent power sources in our homes, the electrical outlet. It incorporates the formal codes of standard transformer, a natural object there. The second one employs light sources, sharing the same connection as light bulbs. It can therefore benefit from the three-dimensionality of space. The third speaker conquers outdoor taking advantage of solar energy. To accommodate this hostile world, it takes advantage of fully hermetic and high resistance materials. The flower pot form perfectly fits to this open environment.
In addition, each of these speakers was the subject of a sound research, in association with an acoustic expert engineer from the Polytechnic School of Lausanne. The amplifiers have been experienced especially to answer space constraints and specific propagations.

Design

Wireless sound

Projet de diplôme réalisé à l’écal de Lausanne en 2007. Le thème central est le son nomade, qui grâce aux nouvelles technologies permet d’être transporté sans fil, ouvrant ainsi une dimension inédite aux objets propageant du son comme les haut-parleurs. Profitant de cette nouvelle liberté, ces objets peuvent désormais utiliser des espaces nouveaux et inattendus. Ils proposent différentes solutions, en s’adaptant à leur environnement aussi bien au niveau formel qu’ergonomique.
Un de ces haut-parleurs exploite une des sources électriques les plus répandues dans nos maisons, la prise électrique. Il reprend les codes formels d’un transformateur standard, un objet naturel à cet endroit. Le second emploie les sources lumineuses, partageant la même connexion que les ampoules. Il peut ainsi profiter de la tridimensionnalité d’un espace. Le troisième haut-parleur s’approprie l’univers extérieur en tirant partie de l’énergie solaire. Pour s’acclimater à cet univers hostile, il tire avantage de matériaux totalement hermétiques et haute-résistance.
De plus, chacun de ces haut-parleurs a fait l’objet d’une étude sonore, en association avec un ingénieur de l’EPFL de Lausanne, spécialisé dans l’acoustique. Les amplificateurs ont été expérimentés pour répondre à des contraintes d’espace et de propagations spécifiques.